Selchie Productions: Nam Aonar ri Taobh na Tuinne: ‘Authentically Saami’: My thoughts on Lisa Vipola’s Art

Link: Selchie Productions: Nam Aonar ri Taobh na Tuinne: ‘Authentically Saami’: My thoughts on Lisa Vipola’s Art

selchieproductions:

2755725_520_293

Lisa Vipola, wearing her faux gákti. Photo © Anna Sunna/SR Sameradion

In my studies, I focus in particular on the artistic and literary performance of Indigeneity. In short, I tend to describe the work leading up to what I hope will one day translate into a PhD as a study into how…

Now that I’ve had time to go back to this with a cooler head I’d say you could def add some criticism of feminism, if any was intended to be part of the project. It’s a well known fact that colonial feminism is *all* about appropriating indigenous knowledge and the violent erasure of trans people so in that sense I would see Vipola’s art as part of a continuum, perfectly in line with the larger project of white cissupremacy as furthered by white feminists.

